“Back to Work”

ESD June 7th, 2629

Malinowski Research Station, Trobriand Sector, Ryosh c

Ryosh System

 

Gorrin was right. It took a little more than just sitting on the beach to fix me up, but I still call it a success based on the fact that we just made the biggest breakthrough of the entire study as a result. Of course, the biggest breakthrough of our study makes it one of the biggest breakthroughs in human history, but that just goes with the territory. I keep telling myself this to prevent myself from hyperventilating. When you’re already farther out than you’ve ever been, every step is breaking your previous record.

Now for the update. I got back to Malinowski yesterday morning with the goofiest smile on my face, probably making Larisha wonder if isolation had finally cracked me. I know I said I wouldn’t talk about this anymore but she really is attractive, even sweaty and without makeup. Not that I really expected the inverse 140 lightyears or so away from home, of course, but I guess I just know how to pick ‘em. Did I mention that she’s brilliant too? Pretty sure I have but it can’t hurt to reiterate. Within about two minutes of all my corrections and hypotheses about our experiments starting to tumble out of my mouth, she was already making a list of collaborators to call in again. Since we don’t know what they call themselves yet, we could only assign numbers. Those were easy enough for our Ryosh intermediaries to understand, so they’ve been using the same system too. At least that’s what I assume.

I really can’t understate how much it feels like we’re just wandering around in the dark here, or how much we were up until as soon as I figure out how to wire the color suit (this is still what I’m going with until something better comes along). For all the progress we’ve made in separating the signals and noises, we may as well be tossing rocks down a well and waiting for a splash that’s taken two months to reach the surface. What hair wasn’t already pulled out has now turned gray, but let me tell you it feels fantastic to finally hear that splash.

Once our list of call-backs is done, we’ll get in touch with one of our intermediaries, a biologist I’ve been calling Lavender due to the color he (guessing here) usually manifests. Lavender seems like a cheery enough individual that my first guess was that this color has some correlation to the Ryosh equivalent of cheeriness, but it’s anyone’s guess at this point.

Hey, I know: I’ll finish the color suit and ask! Sounds good.

Leave a Reply

